Skip to content
Reviews & ComparisonsUpdated September 2026

Best Balcony Solar Kits UK 2026: Eligibility & Comparisons

Compare dated plug-in eligibility, panel and battery capacity, mounting needs and retailer options. Battery systems and conventional installations are identified separately.

Affiliate links: if you buy through a link on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we list. Full disclosure

How to compare these options

Start with eligibility, then the mounting space and panel area you have, included equipment, storage needs, warranty territory and total installed cost. These are different configurations, not a like-for-like performance ranking. We have not tested them ourselves. PV input, panel wattage and AC output are different measures; a higher headline number does not guarantee more useful electricity at your home.

Great Britain plug-in eligibility: register checked 8 September 2026

The maintained register contains 47 Compliant kits. Only the exact UKSOL reference shown here is among them; follow its instructions and check the current record and on-product declaration. Battery systems are excluded from the plug-in route. Other configurations require an installer to establish the correct network route. See the full certification tracker.

Northern Ireland has a separate connection route

Great Britain’s plug-in-use change does not establish permission to connect through a socket in Northern Ireland. Check the exact equipment with an installer and NIE Networks under G98/NI or G99/NI, and confirm delivery to your address. Read our Northern Ireland guide.

Product and link review: 10 September 2026. Register status remains the dated 8 September record. The UKSOL £599 price is from the retailer check on 4 September; Argos blocked our latest automated check, so current price, stock and delivery remain unconfirmed.

One email when the list changes.

A new kit verified on the ENA register, or a retailer starting to sell one. Nothing else, and you can leave with one click.

Handled by Kit, which sends a confirmation first. See our privacy policy.

Side-by-Side Comparison

SystemPricePanel / input / outputBattery?Smart App?Best For
UKSOL Plug-In Solar Pro Compact 515W£599 at 4 September check515WNoNot stated on the listingAnyone who wants a verified plug-in kit from a mainstream retailer
EcoFlow STREAM MicroinverterCheck selected bundle800W AC outputNone in the microinverterYes — EcoFlow AppComparing battery-free EcoFlow hardware
Anker SOLIX Solarbank 2 E1600 ProCheck selected bundleUp to 2,400W PV input1.6 kWh, expandableYes — Anker AppBattery storage with four solar inputs
Plug-in Solar 600W KitCurrent price unverified600WNoNoConventional installation comparison
Jackery Navi 2000Not yet available in UKUp to 800W PV input2 kWh LiFePO4 (expandable to 8 kWh)Yes — Jackery AppSmall balconies, Juliet balconies
Verified plug-in pick

UKSOL Plug-In Solar Pro Compact 515W

£599 at 4 September check

panels

1 × 515W (hybrid mount)

inverter

800W-class microinverter (register capacity 0.8 kW)

connectivity

Not stated on the listing

warranty

Not stated on the listing

weight

Not stated on the listing

Features to compare

  • +Assessed Compliant on the ENA register (UKSOL/21008/V1/A4), so it can legally use the plug-in route
  • +Argos listing recorded on 4 September; check current stock and delivery terms
  • +The lowest listed price among the six UKSOL Argos bundles in our 4 September snapshot

Limitations to check

  • Single panel, so less generation than a two-panel kit at similar money
  • We have not conducted long-term testing; current retailer stock could not be reverified in this review

Verdict

A useful starting point for a Great Britain plug-in kit: the exact register reference was Compliant at the maintained 8 September check. Confirm the listing still matches that model, then compare mounting, panel area and the full installed cost against other verified kits in our tracker.

Not verified for the plug-in route

EcoFlow STREAM Microinverter

Check selected bundle

output

800W AC on the linked Amazon listing

battery

None; battery STREAM models are different products

connectivity

Wi-Fi and app control

Features to compare

  • +Monitoring through the EcoFlow app
  • +The linked Amazon listing is for the microinverter, not a battery bundle

Limitations to check

  • EF-PS-800 was Non-compliant at our 8 September register check
  • Check the model, cable, included panels and installation route before ordering

Verdict

Do not confuse STREAM with the older PowerStream or assume a retailer listing establishes plug-in eligibility. Battery models need a conventional installation; this microinverter also lacks verified plug-in status in our maintained register snapshot.

Conventional installation

Anker SOLIX Solarbank 2 E1600 Pro

Check selected bundle

input

4 MPPT, 2,400W total PV input

output

800W on-grid AC

storage

1.6 kWh, expandable to 9.6 kWh

warranty

10 years on the manufacturer page; confirm UK seller coverage

weight

21.8 kg

Features to compare

  • +Four MPPT inputs for separate panel groups
  • +Storage can be expanded; it is not fixed at 2 kWh

Limitations to check

  • Battery storage excludes it from the Great Britain plug-in route
  • EU specifications do not establish UK cable compatibility or installation approval

Verdict

A storage option to assess with an installer. Compare the exact Pro model, included panels, installed cost and warranty territory. PV input capacity is not AC output or a prediction of annual generation.

Budget Pick

Plug-in Solar 600W Kit

Current price unverified

panels

2 × 300W monocrystalline

inverter

Hoymiles HM-600 micro-inverter

connectivity

None (inverter only)

warranty

2 years (varies by seller)

weight

~16 kg

Features to compare

  • +A battery-free configuration for comparison with conventional installations
  • +Hoymiles micro-inverters are well-regarded in the solar industry for reliability and longevity
  • +Simple, proven technology — nothing to go wrong with an app or cloud service

Limitations to check

  • No monitoring app — you won't know how much electricity you're generating without a separate meter
  • No battery option, no smart home integration, and support can be limited through third-party sellers

Verdict

The name does not establish plug-in eligibility. This configuration is not verified in our register snapshot, and we removed an Amazon link that resolved to a different kit. Get an exact model and installed quote before comparing costs; the certification tracker provides dated alternatives.

Best for Small Spaces

Jackery Navi 2000

Not yet available in UK

panels

Up to 800W PV input

inverter

Integrated 800W

connectivity

Bluetooth + Wi-Fi

warranty

3 years

weight

~12 kg

Features to compare

  • +Compact footprint makes it the only viable option for Juliet balconies and narrow terraces
  • +Jackery has a strong reliability reputation built on their portable power station range
  • +2 kWh LiFePO4 battery expandable to 8 kWh for serious storage capacity

Limitations to check

  • Not yet available in the UK — currently sold in EU markets only
  • Newer product with less long-term reliability data than more established systems

Verdict

The Jackery Navi 2000 is a promising balcony solar system with up to 800W PV input and expandable LiFePO4 battery storage, but it is not yet available in the UK. We'll update this listing when UK availability is confirmed.

Learn More

Evidence and comparison limits

This is a desk comparison. We use the maintained ENA record for plug-in eligibility and manufacturer or retailer documentation for the named configuration. We do not assign test scores or claim that every product has been independently reviewed. Battery systems are included to explain alternatives, not to present them as certified socket-connected kits.

For each shortlist, check mounting permission and load capacity, panel dimensions and shading, the included inverter and cables, warranty coverage, delivery territory and electrician costs. Compare annual usable generation with your daytime consumption rather than choosing solely by maximum wattage. Our savings calculator models assumptions, not a guaranteed return.

Sources checked 10 September: EcoFlow UK model range, Anker Solarbank 2 E1600 Pro manufacturer specifications (EU specifications; verify UK supply), DESNZ final specification and NIE Networks’ distribution code. Retailer links identify products, not proof of compliance or an order.